What I was thinking when I queued…

It was the third time that I stood on the ground floor of Thomas Neal’s Centre, waited for returned ticket of Coriolanus. I went out at around five and arrived at Tottenham Court Road in 10 minutes by No.73. After bought Flat White and Fruit Pastry at Monmouth Coffee, I got lost in Seven Dials. It would be a pleasure for me to get lost in winding paths at Seven Dails, but today is not the case. When I finally found my way to Donmar Warehouse, six people were already lined up.

Oh. That was deeply disturbing. According to the last two experiences, three or four returned tickets were available. Nevertheless, nobody knows.

I sat down and decided to kill time watching people around me. The first one in the queue was an aging man with grey hair sitting on a folding stool brought by his own. Two middle-aged madams were behind him, sitting cross-legged on the floor. I had no idea how early they arrived, but I could imagine they had waited for a long time since they all read the hours away. Three young ladies were In front of me. They sat in a circle and chitchatted about their daily lives. Several good-looking young men bypassed and they all wore Superdry…That was sort of strange, actually. Is that a beloved brand in London? I suppose yes, because I do notice so many people wearing warm jacket with the label 極度乾燥.

I took out the reading for Wednesday’s module and tried to read, but in vain. Noises and crowds passed by made me incapable of concentration. I was a bit frustrated, thinking of changing another way to celebrate my fourth month in London. Standing in the line reminded me of the previous queues: I remembered having small talks with a girl ahead of me in the first time. She is also a fangirl of Sherlock and Tom Hiddleston; the glances filled with regrets when the man and his girlfriend didn’t get last-minute ticket; the moment when ticket box staff apologetically informed us no more returned ticket today.

However, after a sudden stir in crowds, I turned around and saw Mark Gatiss standing steps away from me! He signed autographs for two girls and walked by our line! Probably, that was good sign. I was cheered up and started gossiping with girls ahead of me…and the result was I GOT a ticket 3 minutes before the show started.

That was absolutely an amazing night. We all achieved a perfect escape from daily lives and bonded together to breathe as audience for two hours and forty minutes.

As Tom has said in an interview, you come as an individual and leave as a group.

What happened next….

I was uncontrollably thrilled for three days, nothing accomplished….

____________________________________

Fun of the Day

Fun of the Day

Source: Instagram

Leave a comment